Delhi Daredevils v Gujarat Lions, IPL 2017, Delhi May 4, 2017

Daredevils bowl; Morris out, Samuels debuts

The Report by Varun Shetty

Toss Delhi Daredevils chose to bowl v Gujarat Lions
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

File photo - Marlon Samuels was brought in to replace Angelo Mathews © AFP

Karun Nair, standing in as Delhi Daredevils captain for the injured Zaheer Khan for the third game in a row, elected to bowl against Gujarat Lions at the Feroz Shah Kotla. Daredevils had won their previous game at home by chasing, and Nair cited this as the reason for his decision. Suresh Raina said he would have bowled as well.

Daredevils did not stick with the line-up they played against Sunrisers Hyderabad, however. They left Chris Morris, Jayant Yadav and Angelo Mathews out. Pat Cummins and Shahbaz Nadeem came back into the team, while Marlon Samuels, who replaced the injured Quinton de Kock in their squad last week, was handed a debut. Gujarat Lions were unchanged.

Both teams are in the bottom half of the table. Daredevils need to win at least four games of their remaining five to stay in contention. Lions have no choice - they need to win all their games to have a shot at the playoffs.

Delhi Daredevils 1 Sanju Samson, 2 Karun Nair (capt), 3 Rishabh Pant (wk), 4 Shreyas Iyer, 5 Marlon Samuels, 6 Corey Anderson, 7 Pat Cummins, 8 Kagiso Rabada, 9 Shahbaz Nadeem, 10 Amit Mishra, 11 Mohammed Shami

Gujarat Lions 1 Brendon McCullum, 2 Ishan Kishan, 3 Suresh Raina (capt), 4 Aaron Finch, 5 Dwayne Smith, 6 Dinesh Karthik (wk), 7 Ravindra Jadeja, 8 James Fualkner, 9 Pradeep Sangwan, 10 Basil Thampi, 11 Ankit Soni

Varun Shetty is a sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo